Ben Ulland lightening bolt

Verified 1 Review
location-iconOutdoor & In-Home location-iconGym

About Ben

I am a married father to boy girl twins in third grade. I enjoy playing and watching sports including baseball, basketball, football, and soccer. I also enjoy getting exercise via strength training, running, cycling, or playing with my kids and our two dogs. I enjoy reading and listening to audiobooks, also listening to podcasts. I enjoy spending time with family and friends. I got into the fitness industry because I enjoy helping clients in their journey to reach their goals and coach them to an improved version of themselves.

My favorite client story

All of my clients have their own uniqueness and awesomeness. However, I have been working with a husband and father to 4 for over 4 years. One of the exercises he has worked on in bench press. He used to only be able to lift 185 pounds on one rep max. Now, he bench pressed 290 pounds 3 times and continues to improve his strength, but upper body and elsewhere.

My favorite exercise

My favorite exercise is both pull-ups and the bicycle crunch. I like doing pull-ups because a majority of people cannot do them which makes be feel elite. I like the bicycle crunch because how it makes my abs feel after I am done.

My favorite quote

Quityourbitching (a sign at one of the gyms I train at with a few words pushed together --> quit - your - bitching)
Put one foot in front of the other and just do it.

My training philosophy

Find your training threshold and push it every now and then, see what your body can do because your mind usually fails before your body (while training).

My training experience

I have been training since summer of 2011. I worked part time as a Certified Personal Trainer for the YMCA in St. Paul, then in White Bear Lake. Then in Fall of 2014, I went off on my own as a contractor and rented gym space and have been doing that ever since. I have trained men, women, and children of all ages.

Areas of Expertise

  • Strength Training
  • Weight Loss
  • Kettlebells
  • TRX
  • Functional Training

NCCA Accredited Certifications

NASM Certified Personal Trainer

Additional Certifications

Fitness Nutrition


Bachelor of Arts Degree, in Law Enforcement

Who I Especially Like Working With

Brides-to-be, Law Enforcement, Men, Middle-aged, Military, Overweight/ Obese, Runners, Seniors, Student-athletes, Women, Youth

Medical Conditions Experience

Autoimmune Diseases, Fibromyalgia

If you’re not sure if you want to get a trainer and are scared of judgement, you need to hire this man. He is a judgement free, friendly, and funnest trainer you’ll ever have.

Brittany R.

Are you a trainer?
Get new clients. Change lives.