LIMITED TIME ONLY. Give the gift of health and get up to a 20% bonus on all gift cards!

Mary Glynos lightening bolt

Verified
location-iconOutdoor & In-Home

About Mary

My name is Mary and I am an Army Veteran who stands 4'9" tall but, don't let that full you. I am a Social Work Student, I have degrees in Community Health Education and Medical Assistance. I am also a Breast Cancer Survivor (I was 34 when diagnosed). I was born with a facial birth defect called Cleft Lip and Palate. Some say all of these are challenges and I say they are stepping stones of who I am. I do not see failure but, an opportunity to succeed at the highest level.


My favorite client story

I have 2 favorite client stories.

Client A - Was a woman I meet in 2013 at a parade in NYC. She wanted to lose weight and build muscle. In 2014 she found out she was pregnant and put on a lot of weight with her son. In 2015 we started her journey virtually as she and her husband were now in Seattle. I started training them both. This woman became my sister and best friend as we had a lot of similar experiences. In 2016 she lost the weight and became a personal trainer herself. Now she and I are both in school for our Master's in Social Work and she was my Maid of Honor at my Wedding in 2018.

Client B- Came to me because her trainer had recently left the gym in Oct 2014. She was getting married in Nov 2015 and wanted to look amazing in her Wedding Dress. We started off slowly to asses her strengths, we then eased into 2x a week 1 on 1 and every 2 weeks she would join my bootcamp class. Come the morning of her wedding day I got the 1st photo of her in that dress and now years later she is still working out and has a beautiful son.

My favorite exercise

I do not have a particular exercise more of a body part I like to work out. That would be my Back! Any movement that's going to grow and shape my back I am all for it.

My favorite quote

"Only Thing We Have to Fear is Fear ITSELF" - FDR

My training philosophy

CAN'T is not in my vocabulary. There is always a way to accomplish something. It may not be the traditional way as long as it gets done.

My training experience

I was a 3 time high school athlete, served 6.5 years active duty in the Army, Coached Women's Fast Pitch Softball and Special Olympics Adult Softball, I received my personal training certification in 2014 and I have been coaching crossfit for the last 4 years.

Areas of Expertise

  • Core and Balance
  • Nutrition
  • Strength Training
  • Weight Loss
  • Kettlebells
  • TRX
  • Functional Training
  • Sports Performance Training
  • CrossFit

NCCA Accredited Certifications

NASM Certified Personal Trainer

Additional Certifications

TRX, Kettlebell, Certified Cancer Exercise Specialist

Education

BS in Community Health Education, AAS in Medical Assistance

Who I Especially Like Working With

Bariatric, Beginners, Brides-to-be, Cancer Survivors, Disabled, Law Enforcement, LGBTQIA, Men, Middle-aged, Military, Overweight/ Obese, Post-rehab, Pre/post-natal, Rehab, Seniors, Student-athletes, Women, Youth

Medical Conditions Experience

Anxiety, Asthma, Autism, Breast Cancer, Dementia, Depression, Diabetes, Downs Syndrome, Eating Disorders, Fibromyalgia, Hearing Impaired (Deaf), Knee Pain/Issues, Multiple Sclerosis, Obesity, Pregnancy, Scoliosis, Shoulder Issues, Visually Impaired (Blind)

Are you a trainer?
Get new clients. Change lives.